KnifeForums.com - Intelligent Discussion for the knife enthusiast

Recent Topics
Recent Pictures
thumb_1492726062-20170420_094015.jpg
thumb_1491582663-thumb_23.jpg
Current Quote
"To educate a person in mind and not in morals is to educate a menace to society"
~ Teddy Roosevelt
Username Post: First attempt at making a knife        (Topic#942504)
Adamlovesknives
04-10-16 09:04.31 - Post#2624909    

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting on knifefourms.com as I just made this account. I attached a photo of my progress on my first knife attempt...got some O1 tool steel stock and I have an assortment of decent files. I feel like I am going at this the wrong way though, starting with my choil I used a flat file and a round file....had trouble with consistency and finished it off with a half round file 1" wide to what it is now. I used a flat file to try and round off the handle edged as well. Feel like I went at that the wrong way. Can someone with filling experience give me some input! Anything helps, thanks!

Attachment

Adamlovesknives
04-10-16 14:51.28 - Post#2624916    

In response to Adamlovesknives

I guess to be more specific, I only rounded off part of the handle using a flat file, and it didn't work so well...What file would someone recommend for round the handle off? I was thinking maybe a half round file or something... I was going to continue to work toward the front of the blade by using my hacksaw to cut off as much metal as possible then file it down...again I was planning on using a flat file possible with draw stroke, but wasn't sure if this was the best method, as the half round file seems to do what I need a little more. Thanks!

BruceJensky
Master Member KnifeNut!
04-22-16 15:14.53 - Post#2625201    

In response to Adamlovesknives

Success is dependent upon effort…

Adam,