KnifeForums.com - Intelligent Discussion for the knife enthusiast

Recent Topics
Recent Pictures
thumb_1490310452-IMG_20170323_125412.jpg
thumb_1489339104-FlynnHunter2SM.jpg
Current Quote
"To educate a person in mind and not in morals is to educate a menace to society"
~ Teddy Roosevelt
 Page 3 of 3 All« First<123
Username Post: Richard Batson knives        (Topic#925078)
sac troop
Journeyman KnifeNut!
05-06-16 08:25.02 - Post#2625402    

In response to Dustoff67

Dustoff67,
Thanks for posting. The next time you see Uncle Jerry please thank him for us. Both for his service and his knife work.

Ziggync123
03-14-17 10:02.30 - Post#2628776    

In response to sac troop

Sometime in the middle of the 1970’s, I met Richard Batson in Washington, DC.

He had recently retired from the U.S. Army and I was a fledgling designer / illustrator about to be released from my U.S. Army enlistment – we
both were working at the same company – I was in the project transition program. Long story short, that was the start of my lifelong friendship with Richard Batson.

About two years ago, Richard came by my house with a box of photos and a case full of knives in various states of finish and said he was cleaning up promises made.

He asked me to help to scan, catalog and put together a book of pictures of the knives he had made over the years.

He has an amazing memory and there is a story that goes with each and every one of his knives.

I was absolutely blown away at the quality, from a fit and finish stand point, they are true works of art – but I am not naive as to their purpose.

They are designed and crafted by a man who is the “Real Deal”, he’s been, there done that, he understands the needs and he makes form and function accordingly.

Richard does not talk about what and where, but if you ever have a chance to meet the man…you just know that he is the real deal.