KnifeForums.com - Intelligent Discussion for the knife enthusiast

Recent Pictures
thumb_1492726062-20170420_094015.jpg
thumb_1491582663-thumb_23.jpg
Current Quote
"To educate a person in mind and not in morals is to educate a menace to society"
~ Teddy Roosevelt
Username Post: ULTRA RARE fixed blades - $ value?        (Topic#837971)
BattleScarred
11-29-08 22:09.34 - Post#1697248    

Hi everyone,
First off, forgive me if I make any protocol mistakes or other goof-ups: This is my first time here.
Anyway, I have two very rare SOG Fixed blades that I can't seem to find a value for ANYWHERE! ANY HELP would be GREATLY appreciated!!
The knives:
1. An ORIGINAL S1 Bowie (NOT one of the newer cheapies) PROTOTYPE with the 5th SFG insignia on the blade - but TIGER-STRIPED in light blue/gray and black, with Spencer Frazers hand signature etched by him onto the aircraft nut pommel. Leather disc handle. It is VERIFIED BY SOG as being 1 of only 15 EVER made!
2. SOG TigerShark (not the new one with the "knuckleguard"), standard (Kraton? Rubber?) handle - BLADE IS FULLY TIGER-STRIPED, again in light blue/gray and black. Spencers signature etched onto the partially serrated BLADE (marked with "SEKI-JAPAN" on choil). VERIFIED as ONE of ONE - it was made for me personally and the kind folks at SOG informed me that they had NEVER Tiger-Striped or otherwise camouflaged a TigerShark, that this was a FIRST.

I got both of these knives in 2005(?).
Both came with Certificates of Authenticity from the factory signed by Mr. Frazer.

I've been trying to find out what they are worth, esp. to a serious SOG collector, pretty much ever since I got them. I doubt that I will part with the TigerShark since it was essentially a gift, but it would still be nice to have this information! I'm willing to wheel and deal with anyone who is seriously interested in the S1.

Thank you and God bless!
Wit makes such a wound that the knife's lost in it

wstwood
Master Member KnifeNut!