thumb_1406244502-apple1.jpg
thumb_1406242071-IMAG0183.jpg
thumb_1406138951-1.JPG
thumb_1405723916-IMG_1451.jpg
thumb_1405631397-6.JPG
thumb_1404764053-004.JPG
thumb_1404657528-DSC_0483.JPG
Current Quote
"Posterity, you will never know how much it cost the present generation to preserve your
freedom. I hope you will make good use of it. If you do not, I shall repent in heaven that ever I
took half the pains to preserve it."
~ John Adams
381 Online Now
26 viewable users (
    ) and 0 hidden plus 355 guests are online now.
     Page 1 of 7 1234>» Last
    Username Post: Making a Kydex Mora Sheath        (Topic#798562)
    SporK60
    Master Member KnifeNut!
    07-05-07 07:26.57 - Post#1265651    

This is how I’ve been doing my Kydex sheaths using a homebuilt press and hand tools.
    I’m no expert and I’m still learning, but the following has been working for me.

I’m not going to supply a tool list, what I use will shown in the photos or mentioned as I go...use what you have on hand or what works for you.

My press is composed of 3 pieces of 12? x 6? x 3/4? plywood.

Two of them have Kydex foam glued to them and the third is left bare for making flat-backed pieces.
    I have 3 bar-clamps, a fourth might be handy but I haven’t been handicapped without it.

If you were going to do more than one or two sheaths, I would highly recommend getting proper Kydex pressing foam.
    I started out with improvised foam from a cheap closed-cell backpacking mat and while it worked, the proper foam made a noticeable difference in results and ease of use.

I learned this after struggling with the improvised foam for almost a year.

Attachment

Dave

SporK60
    Master Member KnifeNut!
    Re: Making a Kydex Mora Sheath
    07-05-07 07:29.14 - Post#1265654    

In response to SporK60

The Frosts Clipper is probably one of the easier Moras for a beginner to start with because of its Kydex-friendly guard shape.