thumb_1411343012-DSC_0283__640x209_.jpg
thumb_1411061614-1.JPG
thumb_1410635072-MVP_61bsmallerfilesize.jpg
thumb_1409428191-DSC_0019kf.jpg
thumb_1409241408-8.JPG
thumb_1408752966-Buck110-arrowheads.jpg
thumb_1408752721-1280x-buck110-steampunk2.jpg
Current Quote
"The true test of character is not how much we know how to do, but how we behave when we don't know what to do.
"
~ -John Holt
232 Online Now
24 viewable users (
    ) and 0 hidden plus 208 guests are online now.
     Page 1 of 2 All12
    Username Post: Best Steel / edge holding        (Topic#134575)
    hicarbon
    Journeyman KnifeNut!
    01-02-02 18:15.53 - Post#134575    

I've been collecting custom knives for many years and use some of them in the field for big game. This might sound crazy...but, the expensive customs don't hold the edge as good as some less expensive knives I own. I always thought that 440C with a 58RC was about as good as it gets. After working on a bull moose with a $350 custom of 440C and having the blade dull on me, I decided to try a Randall #4 carbon 6". All I can say is WOW !! what a difference. That carbon blade stayed SHARP for the whole job on a bigger bull moose yet. I realize that blade design and the edge grind is an important factor in a working blade. I also hear that 440C is harder to sharpen than carbon, so to me.. that would mean 440C should stay sharper for a longer time. This is not the case. At any rate after all these years of knife collecting I don't get it. So, can somebody out there... tell me what is the best steel for edge holding. All blades beening the same grind, and mainly used for big game like moose and bear,[flesh,tendon,some hide and some bone, etc. For example 154CM, A2, D1, 440C, 440V [new] and so on. Thanks. Remember...a sharp knife is a safe knife.

turkeyman
    01-03-02 02:49.19 - Post#134594    

In response to hicarbon